faitherinhicks:

blackjackaught:

An 8-page comic from Amazing Heroes #187 from January 1991. Stan Sakai explains his process for creating an issue, with a further interview here. He’s by far one of my favorite comic-book artists and writers, and having met him in person a few times, an incredibly nice guy. 🙂

A wonderful how-to by Stan Sakai, creator of Usagi Yojimbo, one of the greatest Samurai Rabbit comics ever! This comic was done back in 1991, apparently, but the advice is fantastic. I also thought it was kind of adorable he starts his instruction by saying “this is how *I* work, but others might work differently.” That’s what I say too when I talk about comics! But I usually say it because I’m pretty sure I’m doing everything wrong. 😉

Anyway, Usagi Yojimbo is an amazing comic, and if you’re interested in storytelling, you need to pick it up. It’s hugely underrated; Sakai has a masterful grasp of the comics medium. 

Also, he writes some pretty amazing girl characters! ❤ Tomoe. ^_^

PS. I would like a Usagi Yojimbo animated series, please. Seriously, what’s stopping people? There’re 20+ years of storylines to animate.

Leave a Reply

